A misdemeanor, by definition, is a “lesser crime.” In contrast to felonies, misdemeanors are punishable by a fine and/or county jail time for up to a year. Offenders who are charged with a misdemeanor alone will not face a state prison term. They will also be tried in a local court.
Some of the common misdemeanors we may think of are petty theft, trespassing, vandalism, possession of cannabis and public intoxication. However, the types of crimes that are considered misdemeanors depend on state jurisdiction and can be classified differently. Here are a few common examples of Missouri misdemeanors:
Class A Misdemeanors
- Possession of up to 35 grams of cannabis
- Third-degree assault
- Shoplifting goods valued at less than $500
- Fraudulent use of credit card
- Issuing bad checks under $500
Class B Misdemeanors
- Driving while intoxicated (DWI) or driving under the influence (DUI)
- First-degree trespassing
Class C Misdemeanors
- Library theft (goods valued at less than $500)
- Third-degree sexual misconduct
- Illegal gambling
- Alteration of I.D cards
For those who served the sentence of a misdemeanor at least three years ago, a new expungement law may allow offenders to get record of their misdemeanor crime sealed from the state or Federal repositories.
If you are looking for advice concerning Missouri misdemeanor legislation, contact an experienced criminal law attorney. A lawyer can help explain a defendant’s rights in the face of criminal charges.