PLEASE NOTE: To protect your safety in response to the threat of COVID-19, we are offering our clients the ability to meet with us in person, via telephone or through video conferencing. Please call our office to discuss your options.

The Law Office of Gregory N. Smith
Get The Legal Help You Need Today
314-492-6984

Obtaining restricted driving privileges in Missouri after a DWI

You made a mistake, and you decided to drive while under the influence of alcohol. Based on your BAC level, an officer charged you with a DWI. You worry significantly about how the penalties will affect your life, but you know that a suspended license will bring undue hardship to your livelihood.

In Missouri, you have the ability to apply for RDP, or Restricted Driving Privileges. A modified license may help you continue normal life after your criminal conviction and let you continue to work or attend school.

When dealing with license suspension penalties for a DWI, it proves essential to contact an experienced attorney. Criminal defense attorneys hold significant expertise in obtaining restricted driving rights for individuals, and you want the best opportunity to gain approval from the court.

Applying for RDP licensure

Unfortunately, if you have committed any other alcohol-related offense in the last 5 years, you may not prove eligible for an RDP license.

If this DWI constitutes your first offense, the state of Missouri offers two options when determining your RDP eligibility.

1. Immediate RDP: With an immediate RDP, you will receive restricted privileges immediately after a court determines that you require a license. RDPs only allow you to travel to and from:

  • Your work
  • Your home
  • School or classes
  • Court obligations
  • Medical treatment
  • Religious services
  • Child care
  • Grocery stores and gas stations

Though you receive the RDP immediately, the privileges last for 90 days, and the court requires you to install an Ignition Interlock Device (IID). You must provide proof of the installation and insurance, and you must pay for the device yourself.

2. 30-day suspension: With a 30-day suspension, a judge strips you of your driving privileges for approximately one month. You may not operate a vehicle at this time. After the time requirement expires, you receive an RDP license for the final 60 days of your penalties, but you do not need to purchase and install an IID.

A DWI mistake does not need to affect your work and relationships. Though Missouri court inflicts punishments for driving while intoxicated, if a court proves that this offense is your first, you may have the opportunity to drive to and from specific places with an RDP license.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information

How Serious Is My Case? Get Answers

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Email Us For A Response
The Law Office of Gregory N. Smith

7733 Forsyth Blvd
Suite 1850
St Louis, MO 63105

Phone: 314-492-6984
Fax: 314-721-1710
St Louis Law Office Map

Saint Charles Office
By Appointment Only
519 Madison Street
Saint Charles, MO 63301

Map & Directions

Obtaining restricted driving privileges in Missouri after a DWI | The Law Office of Gregory N. Smith