THE CONSEQUENCES OF HEROIN POSSESSION IN MISSOURI
May 24, 2020
Heroin is illegal in all states, but the consequences of being found in the possession of this drug differs from state to state. If you or a loved one have already been accused of heroin possession, it is important that you understand where the law stands in your state and what punishments you may receive.
You should also remember that there are many different treatment options for addiction. If you are an addict and you want to get better, you should know where you can find help. You may even be able to go to rehab instead of facing jail time.
Drug Charges in Missouri for Heroin Possession
If you are convicted for heroin possession in Missouri, you’ll be charged with a Class C felony if it is your first offense. This carries a maximum prison sentence of seven years. If it is not your first offense, you’ll face more serious charges.
If you are convicted of selling heroin, you’ll face between 5 to 15 years in prison. You can even receive a life sentence if you were found to have sold heroin in a school zone. Additionally, moving large quantities of heroin across state lines is punishable by 10 to 30 years or even life in prison.
Drug Treatment Programs
Even if you face charges for heroin possession in Missouri, you should not lose hope. If you are a first-time offender and you are committed to getting better, you may have the option to complete a drug treatment program instead of jail time. This could help you overcome your addiction and give you the tools you need to live a happy and healthy life.
If you’re worried about the possibility of facing jail time as a result of your involvement with heroin, you may also be able to defend yourself so that you can have charges reduced or dismissed. Make sure that you act quickly to fully understand your legal options so that you can get the best possible outcome.