On behalf of The Law Office of Gregory N. Smith
Penalties for A DWI in Missouri
If you are driving home one night and an officer pulls you over for drinking while intoxicated, you are probably feeling a lot of emotions. Scared, anxious and confused may top the list, as you likely are unsure of what will happen next.
Missouri officials arrest many individuals for drunk driving. According to most recent statistics, over 30,000 individuals are arrested in a year. What are the penalties for driving while intoxicated? Do the penalties increase depending on the situation?
If a police officer arrests you after finding that your BAC is over .08 percent, you may face these consequences for a first offense:
- License suspension: For up to 90 days
- Fines: Up to $500
- Prison: Up to six months
- Program: You may need to attend an alcohol education and treatment program
- Ignition Interlock Device: Depending on your situation, you may need to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle, which monitors your sobriety before driving.
It is important to note that each situation is different. Depending on the severity of the DWI, you could be facing different or firmer charges. Examples of this include:
- One or more prior DWIs
- DWI with a minor in the car
- DWI with a subsequent accident
- DWI with an accident that injured or killed another person
- Under the legal drinking age when DWI occurred
Driving while intoxicated is a serious offense, which is why the consequences are so severe. Knowing what you may be facing before sentencing can help you prepare.