This is My First DWI. What Should I Expect?
Jan. 19, 2023
A DWI conviction can have a severe impact on your future. From losing your license to the possibility of jail time, you will want to make sure that you have an experienced criminal defense attorney at your side to fight for your rights and seek the best outcome possible. A DWI charge can be scary, but I want to help you move forward with your life and put this experience behind you. Reach out to me at The Law Office of Gregory N. Smith if you have been arrested for a DWI in the St. Louis metro including St. Charles, St. Louis County, Jefferson County, and East St. Louis, Missouri.
Know Your Rights During a DWI Stop
If a police officer suspects you of driving while intoxicated, be prepared for a lengthy process. First, you should do everything in your power to not incriminate yourself. You have the right to remain silent, no matter what a cop might say. However, the state of Missouri has an “implied consent” law, meaning, if you choose to refuse a chemical test, such as a breathalyzer, urine, or blood test, you could lose your driver’s license for one year.
In order to reinstate your license, you will then have to go through a substance abuse traffic offender program and pay a fine. Since the timing of DWIs is so volatile, it is best to have a skilled criminal defense attorney on your side from the beginning of the process. At The Law Office of Gregory N. Smith, I help first-time DWI suspects get through the process with their rights intact. Do not leave your future or rights up to chance. As an attorney who is solely dedicated to criminal defense, I will help anyone facing DWI charges, including minors.
Possible Penalties for a First-Time DWI in Missouri
Even though a first-offense DWI is a class B misdemeanor, that does not mean the penalties are not severe. If convicted, you could face up to six months in county jail. And, if your blood alcohol content (BAC) is 0.15% to 0.20%, you will be required to spend a minimum of 48 hours in jail.
If your BAC is above 0.20%, you will be required to spend a minimum of five days in jail. You could also be sentenced to paying fines up to $500.
For a first-time offender, you will lose your license for 30 days. If you do not work from home, you could see other consequences like the loss of wages or employment since you cannot drive yourself to work.
You should not have to deal with unjust punishments, especially by yourself. I have committed my legal career to helping those facing DWI charges seek the best outcome possible. Contact me at The Law Office of Gregory N. Smith in St. Louis, Missouri, to learn how I can help
What Makes Me Different From Other Attorneys?
There are a few reasons that make me stand out from other St. Louis-based criminal defense attorneys. For starters, I have dedicated my entire career to criminal defense and am a solo practitioner. I have extensive knowledge of Missouri’s criminal law and will work with you one-on-one so that you can be fully updated with your case.
I also have a Master’s degree in Forensic Science, giving me trustworthy insight into any DNA evidence in your case. Finally, I will never back down from a fight. Whether that means going to trial or creating a deal that works for you, I have your best interest in mind. Talk to me today at my law firm in St. Louis, Missouri, and tell me about your DWI case.
Let’s Fight Your DWI Charge
When faced with a DWI charge for the first time, you need a skilled criminal defense attorney to help you through the process. The consequences are too severe to leave up to chance and I want to help you move forward in life. I will provide you with trustworthy and insightful representation throughout the duration of your case. Reach out to me today in St. Louis, Missouri, and schedule a consultation for your case. I also defend those facing DWI charges in St. Charles, St. Louis County, Jefferson County, and East St. Louis, Missouri.