PLEASE NOTE: To protect your safety in response to the threat of COVID-19, we are offering our clients the ability to meet with us in person, via telephone or through video conferencing. Please call our office to discuss your options.
The Law Office of Gregory N. Smith - Criminal Defense
Bg Cta
Get The Legal Help You Need Today

Protect Your Rights And Future

  1. Home
  2.  » 
  3. Criminal Defense
  4.  » Common causes of driver’s license suspensions

Common causes of driver’s license suspensions

Like many motorists, you may forget that driving is a privilege, not a right. Yet, one wrong move – or a series of them – could lead to the suspension of your license. You might think the threshold for suspension is high. But it can happen after all sorts of offenses, whether related or unrelated to driving.

Excessive traffic violations

In Missouri, you driver’s license could be suspended if you commit a series of traffic violations over a short period of time. Each violation adds points to your license, which can add up quickly depending on the offenses in question. If you receive more than four points within one year, the state’s Department of Revenue (DOR) will send you a warning letter. If you receive eight or more points in an 18-month period, you will lose your driver’s license for 30 days.

DWI charges

Even a first-time offense for driving while impaired (DWI) can lead to a 90-day license suspension in Missouri. Often, this takes the form of a full 30-day suspension, plus 60 days under a Restricted Driving Privilege, where you can make limited, essential trips. If you receive charges for a second DWI offense – or if you refuse a blood or breath test upon your first offense – you could lose your license for up to one year, and you will no longer qualify for a Restricted Driving Privilege. If your second offense happens within five years of your first, you could lose your license for up to five years. For a third DWI offense, the suspension period increases to 10 years.

Missed child support payments

If you owe the lesser of $2,500 or three months in child support payments, your delinquency could cost you your driver’s license for a time. Once you reach either threshold, Missouri’s Family Support Division will order the DOR to send you a notice giving you 60 days to satisfy your obligation. Failure to do so will lead to the suspension of your driver’s license until you make your payment.

If you are at risk of losing your driving privileges, you will want to do everything in your power to keep them. A criminal defense attorney can help you take the necessary steps to defend your driver’s license.

FindLaw Network

Providing strong criminal defense for individuals throughout the St. Louis area.