Defending Against DWI Charges
Here in the St. Louis area, you do not have to travel far most weekend nights to see drunk driving checkpoints and arrests. Here and throughout Missouri, police are cracking down on driving while intoxicated (DWI), and the punishments for a conviction continue to get harsher.
If you are stopped by law enforcement for suspicion of DWI, the police will ask you to take a chemical test of your breath or blood. Once the officer requests the test, you have the right to consult with an attorney and the officer must give you 20 minutes to do so. Before you answer any questions or take any sobriety tests, call an experienced criminal defense attorney like me, Gregory Smith, who can protect your legal rights and help you seek a positive resolution.
The Stakes Are High For A DWI Arrest. Get The Help You Need.
Here in Missouri, a first-time DWI conviction could lead to up to six months in jail, a $500 fine and a 30-day license suspension, followed by 60 days of restricted driving privileges. If you are a repeat offender, however, you can face felony DWI charges, which carry mandatory minimum sentences, depending on how many prior DWIs you have on your driving record.