How Does Missouri Define Consent?
“Consent” is positive cooperation in an act or attitude by free will. Consent cannot be obtained by the use of force. There is a lack of consent when force is used in sexual contact, or when the victim is physically helpless, mentally incapacitated, mentally defective, or too young to provide consent.
What Possible Penalties Can I Face if Convicted?
Penalties for sex-related convictions depend largely on the violence of the act, age or mental capacity of the victim, past convictions, and aggravating factors, for example, use of a weapon during rape.
Sexual misconduct is a Class A, B, or C misdemeanor. The minimum charge, sexual misconduct in the second degree, is punishable by up to 15 days in jail and a fine of up to $750. A conviction also requires registering as a sex offender for 15 years and checking in with law enforcement once a year for the duration.
All other sex crimes are felony offenses in Missouri. Imprisonment for convictions ranges from a minimum of five years to life in prison, and a sex offender registration requirement of 25 years to life.
Work with an Aggressive
Criminal Defense Attorney Today
Prosecuting attorneys aggressively and relentlessly pursue the toughest convictions possible for sex crimes in Missouri. You need a criminal defense attorney who will fight as hard for you as the prosecuting attorney will fight for the alleged victim. Anything less and you are sure to lose more than your freedom.
I bring to your defense the unique perspective, using my advanced forensic science degree and background in DNA analysis. I am a fierce negotiator with the prosecuting attorney and tenacious litigator in the courtroom. Most of all, each of my clients receives my personal dedication and attention. You have too much at stake to hire a sex crimes defense attorney who will not give your case the attention it needs.